Lindsey Smith http://krwg.org en 'Honor Flights' Race To Bring WWII Vets To D.C. Memorial http://krwg.org/post/honor-flights-race-bring-wwii-vets-dc-memorial More than 16 million American's fought in World War II. There's only about a million of them who are still alive and they're all older than 80. Hundreds are dying each day. A non-profit group has made it their mission to honor these remaining veterans by flying them to Washington, D.C., to visit the World War II memorial. The trip isn't something many veterans at this age can do — or afford — on their own. Since the first "Honor Flight" in 2005, groups in almost every state have followed suit and more than 100,000 vets have taken the journey. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 21:51:00 +0000 Lindsey Smith 53667 at http://krwg.org This Isn't Your Granny Smith's Harvesting Technology http://krwg.org/post/isnt-your-granny-smiths-harvesting-technology In West Michigan, it's apple harvest time. Mon, 14 Oct 2013 18:36:00 +0000 Lindsey Smith 51811 at http://krwg.org This Isn't Your Granny Smith's Harvesting Technology Whirlpool Bets Golf Course Will Help Mich. Town's Economy http://krwg.org/post/whirlpool-bets-golf-course-will-help-mich-towns-economy Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>Benton Harbor, Michigan is hosting the Senior PGA Championship, though the economically troubled city may seem like an unlikely place to hold a golf tournament. Benton Harbor is currently in receivership. And it is home to the Whirlpool Corporation, which has moved much of its manufacturing and jobs out of town and overseas. Fri, 25 May 2012 09:09:00 +0000 Lindsey Smith 18913 at http://krwg.org Certain Ford Retirees Face Major Pension Decision http://krwg.org/post/certain-ford-retirees-face-major-pension-decision Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And now to big money that's tied up in a company's pension fund. Tens of thousands of white-collar Ford retirees will soon have a big decision to make: Should they stay in the auto company's pension plan, or take their chances with a lump sum payout instead? The offer is believed to be the first of its kind for such a large, ongoing pension fund.<p>Michigan Radio's Lindsey Smith reports.<p>LINDSEY SMITH, BYLINE: In Michigan, there are more than 30 clubs for Ford retirees. Charles White runs two of them. Wed, 16 May 2012 08:52:00 +0000 Lindsey Smith 18273 at http://krwg.org A Return To 'Safety First' For Michigan Nuclear Plant http://krwg.org/post/return-safety-first-michigan-nuclear-plant The Palisades nuclear power plant in Michigan had five unplanned shutdowns last year. It's one of the area's biggest employers, and its safety record is one of the worst in the country. Sun, 22 Apr 2012 19:50:00 +0000 Lindsey Smith 16726 at http://krwg.org A Return To 'Safety First' For Michigan Nuclear Plant Michigan Furniture Maker Celebrates 100 Years http://krwg.org/post/mich-furniture-maker-celebrates-100-years-business Transcript <p>DAVID GREEENE, HOST: <p>Steelcase, the world's largest office furniture maker, is celebrating 100 years in business. But sales of the metal filing cabinets Steelcase is named for are declining - same with cubicles and other large pieces of office furniture.<p>LINDSEY SMITH, BYLINE: So, as Michigan Radio's Lindsey Smith reports, Steelcase says it's changing its identity.<p>Hundreds of multi-colored balloons float down the middle of Steelcase's four-story headquarters in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Mon, 26 Mar 2012 08:00:00 +0000 Lindsey Smith 14964 at http://krwg.org