Chuck Quirmbach http://krwg.org en Manufacturing Association Wants Progress In Obama's Trade Agenda http://krwg.org/post/manufacturing-association-wants-progress-obamas-trade-agenda Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>A leader of the U.S. manufacturing sector is calling on Congress and the president to put aside their differences. Jay Timmons, who is head of the National Association of Manufacturers, would like to see some progress on the president's trade agenda.<p>Chuck Quirmbach of Wisconsin Public Radio reports.<p>CHUCK QUIRMACH, BYLINE: Timmons was in Milwaukee to deliver his association's annual State of Manufacturing address. He says he chose Wisconsin partly because it has one of the highest percentages of workers in the manufacturing field. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 60274 at http://krwg.org Native Americans Camp Out To Protest Wis. Mining Project http://krwg.org/post/native-americans-camp-out-protest-wis-mining-project A dispute over a proposed iron ore mine in Wisconsin has spilled into the nearby woods. Native Americans have set up a camp to protect land near the mine site and say federal treaty rights allow the campers to stay. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 20:36:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 48933 at http://krwg.org Donations Help Detroit Bury Unclaimed Bodies http://krwg.org/post/donations-help-detroit-burry-unclaimed-bodies Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>And I'm Linda Wertheimer. As we've reported on Detroit's financial woes, we've told you about services the city has struggled to maintain. Scarce funding has even forced Detroit to delay burying unclaimed bodies for a year or more. Many of them are homeless people. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 46897 at http://krwg.org Amid VP Run, Ryan Working To Keep House Seat http://krwg.org/post/amid-vp-run-ryan-working-keep-house-seat Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Paul Ryan is not just Mitt Romney's vice presidential running mate. He is also a member of the House of Representatives from Wisconsin, of course, and a candidate for another term. Thu, 25 Oct 2012 11:05:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 28513 at http://krwg.org Wisc. GOP Gather For Convention On Key Senate Race http://krwg.org/post/wisc-gop-gather-convention-key-senate-race Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon.<p>Republicans in Wisconsin are gathered this weekend for their annual political convention. The delegates could make an endorsement in a key Senate race this year. It is the contest to replace retiring Wisconsin Democrat Herb Kohl.<p>Now, many believe that George W. Sat, 12 May 2012 11:52:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 18057 at http://krwg.org Wisc. Stays In Play Even After Primaries http://krwg.org/post/wisc-stays-play-even-after-primaries Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>When a presidential campaign leaves a state, political activists and the local reporters who cover the candidates often take a vacation. Not so in Wisconsin this year, where Mitt Romney won the GOP primary this past Tuesday. Sun, 08 Apr 2012 12:00:00 +0000 Chuck Quirmbach 15869 at http://krwg.org