StoryCorps http://krwg.org en StoryCorps: Judge Lou Martinez http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-judge-lou-martinez <p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Judge Lou Martinez and her son, David Martinez. Judge Martinez talks about her mother, Francisca Marquez Martinez.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 22:40:10 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 42705 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Judge Lou Martinez StoryCorps: Sara Belger http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-sara-belger <p></p><p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps… I’m Edmundo Resendez. Today we meet Sara Belger who talks with her boyfriend Andrew Polk about how they started dating but how Sara was resistant to the relationship. Then, Andrew had a surprise for Sara.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 22 May 2013 14:39:46 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 41683 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Sara Belger StoryCorps: Sandra Iturbe http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-sandra-iturbe <p></p><p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Sandra Iturbe as she talks to her cousin, Cemelli de Aztlán about the Temazcal or pregnancy sweating lodge and how that was a healing experience not only for Cemelli who had had a traumatic experience when she gave her son for adoption at 16 years old.</p> Wed, 15 May 2013 15:29:09 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 41195 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Sandra Iturbe StoryCorps: Angelina Jaquez http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-angelina-jaquez <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Angelina Jaquez as she talks with her daughter Angelica Torres about coming to the U.S. to work and what "life in the shadows" means.</span></p> Wed, 08 May 2013 14:58:52 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 40710 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Angelina Jaquez StoryCorps: Estela Reyes http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-estela-reyes <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Estela Reyes and sister, Candida Reyes, as they remember their dad, Juan Reyes, who passed away two years ago from diabetes. They remember the unusual funeral that they prepared for him since their dad was the type of person that always went against the grain.</span></p> Wed, 01 May 2013 15:12:01 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 40228 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Estela Reyes StoryCorps: Preciliana Sandoval http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-preciliana-sandoval <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Preciliana Sandoval as she talks with StoryCorps Facilitator, Erin Dickey about how she became an artists and her how knowledge of history drew her to open her business, Morena Walking Tours in Mesilla and is currently studying to become a history teacher. &nbsp; &nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 14:44:51 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 39260 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Preciliana Sandoval StoryCorps: Ryan Otero http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-ryan-otero <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Ryan Otero as he talks to StoryCorps facilitator Virginia Lora about working as a “pollero,” driving undocumented immigrants from Phoenix, AZ to Washington, DC. &nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 10 Apr 2013 15:52:51 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 38773 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Ryan Otero StoryCorps: Patsy Hermosillo http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-patsy-hermosillo <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Patsy Hermosillo and her daughter Vanessa Brady as they have a conversation about the death of Patsy’s daughter, Laura when she was 11 months old. &nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 15:30:51 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 38360 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Patsy Hermosillo StoryCorps: Harvey Hilbert http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-harvey-hilbert <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Harvey Hilbert as he talks with Virginia Lora about his experiences in the Army during the Vietnam War.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 16:58:14 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 37372 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Harvey Hilbert StoryCorps: Dr. Jacob Heydemann http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-dr-jacob-heydemann <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Dr. Jacob Heydemann as he talks with Anna Aleman about volunteering at the FEMAP Clinic in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico for the past 25 years.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 13 Mar 2013 14:44:50 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 36905 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Dr. Jacob Heydemann StoryCorps: Charles Swift http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-charles-swift <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Charles Swift as he talks to his friend Julie Woody about his first day of teaching and an influential professor.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 27 Feb 2013 23:06:50 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 36003 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Charles Swift StoryCorps: Stephanie Acosta http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-stephanie-acosta <p></p><p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Stephanie Acosta and her mother, Maria Carillo who have a conversation about Maria getting pregnant with Stephanie as a teenager. Maria has gone to college and grad school for counseling and now counsels pregnant teens. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 15:55:44 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 35490 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Stephanie Acosta StoryCorps: MaryEllen Hunner http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-maryellen-hunner <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet MaryEllen Hunner as she talks with her husband, Jon Hunner about her bout of cancer 20 years ago, the treatment she undertook, and the discoveries she made during the process. &nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 15:40:05 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 35049 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: MaryEllen Hunner StoryCorps: Bishop Ricardo Ramirez http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-bishop-ricardo-ramirez <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Bishop Ricardo Ramirez as he talks to friend and parishioner, Emily Guerra about some of the events in his life that led him to become a priest and a Bishop serving the community of Mesilla and Las Cruces.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 06 Feb 2013 16:01:40 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 34594 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Bishop Ricardo Ramirez StoryCorps: Felix Arenas http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-felix-arenas <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Felix Arenas as he talks to his daughter, Olivia Arenas about their family and how they came from Durango, Mexico to Juarez and then to the U.S.&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 20:18:19 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 34168 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Felix Arenas StoryCorps: Tammy Schurr http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-tammy-schurr <p></p><p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Tammy Schurr and her partner Catherine Massey as they talk about their loved ones and the things that are important to them. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 15:54:46 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 33733 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Tammy Schurr StoryCorps: Stephanie Gray http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-stephanie-gray <p></p><p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Stephanie Gray and her husband Scott Gray who have a conversation about the birth of their daughter, Velora. Due to a health issue, Stephanie had to have an emergency Caesarean section and Velora was born two months early. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 16:04:34 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 33341 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Stephanie Gray StoryCorps: Kathy Denton http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-kathy-denton <p></p><p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps. Today we meet Kathy Denton as she talks with her friend Anette Dunshee about why she became a park ranger with the National Park Service and her 29 year career at various national parks including White Sands National Monument.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 17:19:37 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 32934 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Kathy Denton StoryCorps: J. Paul Taylor http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-j-paul-taylor <p></p><p>Today we meet J. Paul Taylor who talks with Story Corps facilitator, Erin Dickey about how his parents met; his career as an educator, and as a legislator. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 02 Jan 2013 16:06:38 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 32513 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: J. Paul Taylor KRWG StoryCorps: Kathleen Foreman http://krwg.org/post/krwg-storycorps-kathleen-foreman <p></p><p>Time now for KRWG’s Story Corps,&nbsp;today we meet Kathleen Foreman as she talks to her friend, Renee Boudreau about how her mother, Josefina. Josefina started the tradition of holding Christmas Eve Mass in her house in Mesilla in 1965 after the church discontinued the service.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 17:33:58 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 31781 at http://krwg.org KRWG StoryCorps: Kathleen Foreman Story Corps: Irene Oliver-Lewis http://krwg.org/post/story-corps-irene-oliver-lewis <p></p><p>Today we meet Sylvia J. Camunez and Irene Oliver-Lewis as they talk about their parents, Cecilia and Federico and their legacy.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 12 Dec 2012 15:47:25 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 31336 at http://krwg.org Story Corps: Irene Oliver-Lewis StoryCorps: Robert "Bob" Egan http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-robert-bob-egan <p></p><p>Today we meet Robert Egan as he talks with his wife, Pamela Egan about how they met, fell in love, and what makes their marriage work.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 18:36:33 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 30916 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Robert "Bob" Egan StoryCorps: Maureen Farr http://krwg.org/post/storycorps-maureen-farr <p></p><p>Today we meet Maureen Farr who talks with Story Corps facilitator, Anaid Reyes. Maureen tells her story about taking a cross country road trip with her dog, Max. A woman, a dog, and the open road.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 29 Nov 2012 15:36:06 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 30544 at http://krwg.org StoryCorps: Maureen Farr Paul Gil Gallegos http://krwg.org/post/paul-gil-gallegos <p></p><p>Today we meet Paul Gil Gallegos as he talks about his family tradition: Church Bell Ringing. Paul’s great-grandfather was the town carpenter and helped to build the Basilica San Albino. He was one of the first church bell ringers at San Albino and passed the tradition down through his family who continue to have a strong presence within the Basilica. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 17:33:52 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 30132 at http://krwg.org Paul Gil Gallegos Suzanne Neville Staley http://krwg.org/post/suzanne-neville-staley <p>Today we meet Suzanne Neville Staley and her friend Jasmine Kilpatrick. Suzanne tells Jasmine about the birth of her first child, Sylvia, and how months later learning that Sylvia had a liver disease and would need a liver transplant to survive.</p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 00:17:27 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 29649 at http://krwg.org Suzanne Neville Staley Flor Ogaz http://krwg.org/post/flor-ogaz Wed, 24 Oct 2012 17:10:15 +0000 Edmundo Resendez 28465 at http://krwg.org Aubrey Lewis http://krwg.org/post/aubrey-lewis Wed, 17 Oct 2012 16:10:42 +0000 28049 at http://krwg.org