Tom Goldman http://krwg.org en Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? http://krwg.org/post/can-brazil-regain-soccer-glory-beauty-over-brawn Copacabana Beach is supposed to be fun, but it wasn't Saturday night, after the Netherlands beat Brazil 3-0 in the World Cup third-place game.<p>That loss came on the heels of the 7-1 drubbing by Germany earlier in the week. It's the first time since 1940 that Brazil has lost consecutive home games, prompting calls for change in a country long associated with soccer splendor.<p>Sunday's championship match pits Germany against Argentina in Rio de Janeiro. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 70408 at http://krwg.org Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://krwg.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 70081 at http://krwg.org Continental Rivals Take Spotlight In World Cup Quarters http://krwg.org/post/continental-rivals-take-spotlight-world-cup-quarters Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>In Brazil, tears of joy and relief as the World Cup home team won its quarterfinal against Colombia.<p>(CHEERING)<p>SIEGEL: Brazil beat Colombia 2-1 in a hard-fought game between the two South American neighbors, but as we'll hear, it was a costly victory. An earlier game today - Germany defeated France 1-nothing to move on to the World Cup final four. NPR's Tom Goldman is in Rio de Janeiro, and he joins us now. And, Tom, first of all, Brazil won. But in a way, it also lost. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 69833 at http://krwg.org Belgium Ends U.S. Team's World Cup Hopes http://krwg.org/post/belgium-ends-us-teams-world-cup-hopes The U.S. men's soccer team is out of the World Cup. For 90 minutes, the score was tied at 0-0, but the team lost in extra time to Belgium on Tuesday, 2-1. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 69631 at http://krwg.org Despite Losing To Germany, U.S. Advances In World Cup http://krwg.org/post/despite-losing-germany-us-advances-world-cup The U.S. men's soccer team moves on to the World Cup's round of 16. They lost to Germany, but advance because Portugal beat Ghana. The team will get to rest a bit before playing Belgium on Tuesday. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:10:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 69279 at http://krwg.org World Cup Stadium In The Amazon Is Nice, But Is It Needed? http://krwg.org/post/world-cup-stadium-amazon-nice-it-needed The U.S. plays Portugal in a key World Cup match on Sunday, and it is in the tournament's most exotic locale: Manaus.<p>Manaus is a teeming city of nearly 2 million in the middle of the Amazon rainforest. But it's not some remote outpost; it's the sixth richest city in Brazil, thanks to its Free Trade Zone designation bringing big business like Nokia, Honda and Harley-Davidson.<p>Sunday's game will be the third of only four scheduled in the city's new $300 million World Cup stadium, the Arena da Amazonia. Sat, 21 Jun 2014 21:36:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 68854 at http://krwg.org World Cup Stadium In The Amazon Is Nice, But Is It Needed? Brazil And Croatia Open World Cup Play On The Pitch http://krwg.org/post/brazil-and-croatia-open-world-cup-play-pitch Brazil and Croatia face off in the first game of the 2014 World Cup. Organizers hope the start of the tournament directs attention back on the field and away from the problems in preparation. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:18:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 68223 at http://krwg.org U.S. Men's Soccer Team Braces For World Cup Challenges http://krwg.org/post/us-mens-soccer-team-braces-world-cup-challenges The World Cup begins Thursday in Brazil. The U.S. team has its first match against Ghana the following week, the start of the so called "group of death." Mon, 09 Jun 2014 12:14:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 67907 at http://krwg.org A Campaign To Bring Back 'America's Distance': The 1-Mile Race http://krwg.org/post/campaign-bring-back-americas-distance-1-mile-race <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_E-R97LShwA</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:47:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 67803 at http://krwg.org A Campaign To Bring Back 'America's Distance': The 1-Mile Race Miami Heat Aims To Win Legacy-Defining 3rd Straight NBA Title http://krwg.org/post/miami-heat-aims-win-legacy-defining-3rd-straight-nba-title Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>The NBA finals begin tonight with the numbers, three or five, figuring to play prominent roles. Here's why. Three, as in the Miami Heat are trying to win a legacy defining third straight title. Five as in the San Antonio Spurs are trying to win a fifth championship since 1999. That is dominance. That would solidify their dynasty status. These two best teams in the league are meeting for the second consecutive year in the finals. And NPR's Tom Goldman is here to tell us why Miami is already miffed before game one even starts. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 11:19:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 67641 at http://krwg.org Apology, Defense And Defiance: The Sterlings Speak Out http://krwg.org/post/apology-defense-and-defiance-sterlings-speak-out Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block. The LA Clippers pulled off a comeback victory last night to tie up their playoff series with the Oklahoma City Thunder, but that's not the Clippers conversation of the day. That conversation centers on Donald Sterling, the now-banned Clippers owner. He has broken his silence.<p>In a CNN interview, Sterling apologized for racist remarks that emerged on an audio tape. Mon, 12 May 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 65969 at http://krwg.org Sterling Expected To Fight Forced Sale Of LA Clippers http://krwg.org/post/sterling-expected-fight-forced-sale-la-clippers Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The Donald Sterling case is far from over. Yes, the NBA has banned the L.A. Clippers' owner for life and the pro-basketball playoffs have continued. But Sterling has not revealed what he will do after being banned from the league for making racist remarks. He is expected to fight the forced sale of his team and that could have significant consequences.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman reports.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: At this point, without a Donald Sterling public statement on the way forward, we are forced to turn to those he's met in private, such as L.A. Wed, 07 May 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 65596 at http://krwg.org Donald Sterling Banned For Life From NBA, Fined $2.5 Million http://krwg.org/post/donald-sterling-banned-life-nba-fined-25-million NBA commissioner Adam Silver announced that Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling is banned for life from the league. The decision, coupled with a $2.5 million fine, comes in the wake of Sterling's racist remarks. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:03:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 65090 at http://krwg.org NBA Weighs Penalties After Sterling's Alleged Race Remarks Surface http://krwg.org/post/nba-weighs-penalties-after-sterlings-alleged-race-remarks-surface Controversy is swirling around racist comments allegedly made by Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling. The NBA is exploring its potential responses as it investigates the allegations. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 65018 at http://krwg.org Northwestern Players To Vote On Historic Union Question http://krwg.org/post/northwestern-players-vote-historic-union-question Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It is an historic day at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. Seventy-six scholarship football players are eligible to vote on whether or not to form the first labor union for college athletes.<p>Today's vote was set up by a National Labor Relations Board ruling last month that said players qualified as employees of the university, giving them the right to unionize.<p>NPR sports correspondent Tom Goldman joins us now to help us sort this out. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 64794 at http://krwg.org NCAA Directors Decide To Allow More Freedom To Wealthier Schools http://krwg.org/post/ncaa-directors-decide-allow-more-freedom-wealthier-schools Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>Today, the NCAA announced what could be major changes in the way it operates. Among those potential changes, more autonomy for the five wealthiest Division 1 conferences and more benefits for student athletes. The board of directors endorsed the moves today at their headquarters in Indianapolis. Final approval could come in August, when the board meets next.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman has been following developments and he joins us now. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 64746 at http://krwg.org UConn To Face Kentucky In NCAA Final http://krwg.org/post/uconn-face-kentucky-ncaa-final The matchup is set for Monday's men's NCAA basketball championship. The Connecticut Huskies will take on the Kentucky Wildcats. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:02:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 63476 at http://krwg.org Freshmen Wildcats Step Easily Into Storied Tradition http://krwg.org/post/freshmen-wildcats-step-easily-storied-tradition Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>It is the last day of March, but there's still another weekend of March Madness to come. Four teams gather in Dallas this weekend for the Final Four. If you go strictly by seeding, the University of Kentucky is the longest shot to win the men's college basketball title. In fact, though, the eighth-seeded Wildcats suddenly are a very hot favorite after yesterday's thrilling win over Michigan in the Elite Eight.<p>Once again, head coach John Calipari has brought a freshman-heavy team to the brink of a championship. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:04:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 63073 at http://krwg.org Kentucky Ends Wichita State's Unbeaten Season http://krwg.org/post/kentucky-ends-wichita-states-unbeaten-season Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>OK. Time for an update on March Madness and first condolences are in order for the state of Kansas. Two of its highly regarded men's college basketball teams are out of the tournament. And in addition to condolences to Kansas, I can hear a lot of brackets shredding all over the country. The University of Kansas, a number two seed, lost yesterday to Stanford 70-to-67.<p>And also the undefeated Wichita State Shockers are undefeated no more. They lost to Kentucky in a thriller yesterday, 78-to76. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 09:59:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 62555 at http://krwg.org A Day Of Upsets In College Basketball http://krwg.org/post/day-upsets-college-basketball Thursday was a day of buzzer-beating shots and nail-biting overtime wins. Much of it happened at the NCAA tournament site in Spokane, Wash. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:39:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 62402 at http://krwg.org Drought Closes Oregon Resort Before The Season Even Opens http://krwg.org/post/draught-closes-oregon-resort-season-ever-opened Transcript <p>JACKI LYDEN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Jacki Lyden. This was supposed to be a special year for the Mount Ashland ski area in Southern Oregon as it celebrated its 50th anniversary. But after a long drought this summer, Mount Ashland had to call it a season early. Yesterday, it declared slope season was over due to a lack of snow. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 11:45:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 61985 at http://krwg.org Young Athletes Risk Back Injury By Playing Too Much http://krwg.org/post/young-athletes-risk-back-injury-playing-too-much-too-soon Jack Everett sat on his living room couch wearing a back brace, eyes glued to a massive TV set playing his favorite video game, NHL 2013.<p>"I'm the Boston Bruins," the 10-year-old said as he deftly worked the video controls. "The guy that just shot was Milan Lucic. He's a really good guy on our team."<p>Whether at home or during recess at his elementary school in suburban Los Angeles, Jack's young life now is about sitting still.<p>"Well, I can eat lunch with friends, and I play cards," Jack says. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 59119 at http://krwg.org Young Athletes Risk Back Injury By Playing Too Much Ridge Of High Pressure Blocks Snow From Oregon Ski Resort http://krwg.org/post/ridge-high-pressure-blocks-snow-oregon-ski-resort Throughout the West, bone dry conditions are exacting a toll on places that rely on water to thrive. In southern Oregon, recreation plays an important role in the region's economy. The ongoing drought is drying up streams where fishing once was plentiful and it's left ski resorts wanting for snow. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 09:42:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 58867 at http://krwg.org U.S. Olympic Skier Finds Team Spirit, Minus The Team http://krwg.org/post/us-olympic-skier-finds-team-spirit-minus-team The U.S. Olympic team is taking shape in the run-up to next month's Winter Games in Russia. Mon, 20 Jan 2014 08:32:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 58156 at http://krwg.org U.S. Olympic Skier Finds Team Spirit, Minus The Team NBA Trailblazers Continue Their Surprising Season http://krwg.org/post/nba-trailblazers-continue-their-surprising-season Transcript <p>DON GONYEA, HOST: <p>A third of the NBA season is complete and the Portland Trailblazers are on a surprising run. Last night they beat the L. A. Clippers 116 - 112 in overtime. Portland has the league's best record - 24 wins, five losses. Now the tepid pre-season forecasts are turning into talk of how far the Blazers can go in the post-season. NPR's Tom Goldman reports.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: The Trailblazers already have beaten title contenders Indiana, Oklahoma City and San Antonio. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 10:19:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 56676 at http://krwg.org Rape Accusation Still Shadows Heisman Finalist http://krwg.org/post/rape-accusation-still-shadows-heisman-finalist On Saturday night, there's a very good chance Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston will win the Heisman Trophy, awarded each year to the best college football player in the country.<p>For Winston, family, friends, teammates and Seminole fans, undoubtedly it'll be a shining moment, but a discordant note continues to run through this tale of football glory.<p>On Friday, a lawyer representing a young woman who accused Winston of rape said the investigation that essentially cleared Winston of wrongdoing is anything but clear. Sat, 14 Dec 2013 15:33:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 55885 at http://krwg.org Rape Accusation Still Shadows Heisman Finalist FSU Quarterback Jameis Winston Won't Be Charged With Rape http://krwg.org/post/fsu-quarterback-jameis-winston-wont-be-charged-rape Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Tomorrow night, star quarterback Jameis Winston will lead the Florida State Seminoles against Duke in the Atlantic Coast Conference title game. It's a big deal, mainly because Winston's participation was in doubt. Until yesterday. That's when a Florida prosecutor announced he would not charge Jameis Winston with a felony. A young woman had accused the player of rape after a sexual encounter a year ago. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 10:16:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 55309 at http://krwg.org NBA Preview: On Valuable Knees And Building Legacies http://krwg.org/post/nba-preview-valuable-knees-and-building-legacies Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The NBA begins a new regular season today with three games. Among the match-ups, the two-time defending champion Miami Heat play the Chicago Bulls. That game features the regular season return of Bulls' all-star point guard Derrick Rose. He hurt his knee badly a year and a half ago. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 20:49:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 52787 at http://krwg.org NFL Fans Weigh Impact Of Players' Head Injuries http://krwg.org/post/nfl-fans-weigh-impact-player-head-injuries The NFL season is in high gear — a fact that pleases the roughly 64 percent of Americans who watch football. The season rolls on despite the now constant news about concussions in the sport.<p>The recent <a href="http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/league-of-denial/">TV documentary League of Denial</a> and the book by the same name claim that for years the NFL had denied and covered up evidence linking football and brain damage. Is the concussion conversation challenging this country's deep love for the game?<p>Apparently, not very much. Thu, 17 Oct 2013 21:03:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 52060 at http://krwg.org NFL Fans Weigh Impact Of Players' Head Injuries Concussion Suits: NFL, Retirees Reach $765 Million Deal http://krwg.org/post/concussion-suits-nfl-retirees-reach-765-million-deal Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>A dark cloud hanging over the National Football League is a bit lighter today. There is a proposed settlement in a huge concussion lawsuit, brought by over 4,000 former players. The agreement was reached and announced yesterday, a week before the start of the new NFL season. If approved, the league will pay out $765 million to as many as 18,000 former players. NPR's Tom Goldman reports.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: It was a volatile and contentious case. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 08:46:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 48594 at http://krwg.org