Art Exhibit Opens Next Friday In Silver City

Silver City – The Francis McCray Gallery of Contemporary Art and the Western New Mexico University (WNMU) Expressive Art Department are pleased to announce their featured spring event with the upcoming public opening reception of the "2011 WNMU Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition" on Friday, March 18 from 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. The public is invited to attend this free event and enjoy the submissions accompanied by music and refreshments.

Peter Bill, Assistant Professor of Digital Media, is guest Awards Juror. Art awards donated by local businesses will be announced during the opening reception. The public is invited to vote for the People's Choice Award during the opening reception.

The juried competition was open to all WNMU students as an annual campus event. All members of the WNMU art faculty were invited to jury the entries. Because of the quality of this year's entries, all 65 submissions were accepted, a first for this annual exhibit. Each participant was allowed up to three entries.

The participating 32 student artists are Laura Acosta, Elizabeth J. Allen, Christina Benzor, C. Bree, Ian Carabajal, Sarah M. Chavez, Jacque Cusick, Anna Davis, Rebecca Rands Eisenhauer, Mary Gravelle, Jane Kuan, Jim Kane, Diana La France, Judy Brown Lawson, Phoebe Lawrence, Jared Lobato, Juan Martinez, Herbie Marsden, Galynn McKensie, Kenyon McNeil, David Mulvena, Yessica Noragro-Borquez, Robert J. Ramirez, Cristina Sotelo, Kirkson Tsosie, Dennis Weller, and Tingting Zhary.

The "2011 WNMU Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition" will be on exhibit from March 18 through April 8. McCray Gallery hours are Monday through Friday from 10:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.