Dona Ana County Resdistricting Meeting Friday

Las Cruces – The Dona Ana County Redistricting Advisory Committee has scheduled a public meeting to solicit public input on proposed redistricting maps for all five Dona Ana County commission districts.

The meeting will begin at 8:30 a.m. Friday, June 3, in the Commission Chambers of the Dona Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd., Las Cruces, N.M.

Residents who are unable to attend the meeting can view the proposed maps online at Public comment can be made in person at the meeting or by email prior to the meeting at

Redistricting is the process of redrawing commission boundaries after a decennial U.S. Census to ensure equal commission representation.

The committee will work with the county's consultant to develop redistricting proposals for consideration by the Dona Ana County Board of Commissioners.

The Redistricting Advisory Committee is comprised of two registered Democrats (Jo Galvan and Peter Ossorio), two registered Republicans (Harold Foreman and Philip Banks), and one representative of a minor party (Independent John Smith).