Local Farmers To Be Considered For Drought Assistance

Las Cruces – U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman today announced that six New Mexico counties, including Dona Ana, been declared eligible for disaster assistance due to their proximity to Texas counties, which were declared disaster areas due to continuing drought.

As a result of the declaration, farmers and ranchers in Dona Ana, Eddy, Lea, Otero, Quay, and Roosevelt counties are now eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency, which is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

"These loans help farmers and ranchers who have been affected by drought get back on their feet," Bingaman said.

For more information or to determine eligibility for a low interest loan contact the local USDA Farm Service Center.