Most NM Offices Closed Thursday

New Mexico – The first of five furlough days for state workers will be Thursday, meaning most state offices will be closed on Christmas Eve.

Gov. Bill Richardson has ordered five furlough days giving state workers time off without pay to try to save the state $8.1 million and address a budget shortfall.

The State Personnel Board last week approved furlough dates. The others will be taken on Jan. 15, March 5, April 2 and May 28, all Fridays.

Furloughs don't apply to public schools and colleges or other branches of government such as the courts, nor to about 4,100 workers in public safety and health jobs.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press.