A proposal to ban texting while driving in New Mexico has cleared another hurdle in the Legislature.
The House Transportation and Public Works Committee endorsed the proposal on Thursday to prohibit drivers from sending or reading text messages and emails, or making Internet searches from smartphones or other handheld wireless devices. There would be a $25 fine for a first violation and $50 for subsequent violations.
The Senate passed the measure last week.
Forty-one other states ban texting by all drivers.
New Mexico prohibits texting for teenage drivers with a learner's or provisional license. But texting bans for all drivers have failed in the Legislature since 2009.
The bill goes to another House committee for consideration.
Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.