New Mexico Names Centennial Artists

New Mexico – New Mexico now has a centennial poet, author, children's author, storyteller and distinguished writer.

They were announced by the New Mexico State Library and the Department of Cultural Affairs.

Those honored are centennial poet Levi Romero, author Don Bullis, children's author Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, storyteller Joe Hayes and distinguished writer, N. Scott Momaday.

They were named in honor of the upcoming Statehood Centennial.

New Mexico became the nation's 47th state on Jan. 6, 1912.


Information from: The Santa Fe New Mexican,

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press.