New Mexico Settles With EPA

New Mexico – New Mexico, 10 other states, the District of Columbia and New York City have settled lawsuits against the Environmental Protection Agency after the agency announced a new plan to establish greenhouse gas pollution standards under provisions of the Clean Air Act.

The agreement followed a decision by the Obama administration to move through regulatory channels to clamp down on greenhouse gas emissions after Congress failed to act on new legislation.

The groups that sued the EPA had sought to compel it to issue new standards for greenhouse gas emissions.

The new regulations will focus on coal plants and oil refineries, two of the largest sources of greenhouse gases.

The entities involved in the suit were New York, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, the District of Columbia, and the City of New York.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press.