Nine Declare Candidacy In Las Cruces Municipal Election

Sep 24, 2013

A total of nine Las Cruces residents filed paperwork with the city clerk’s office to appear on the November 5th municipal election ballot. Seats up for election are city council districts 3, 5 and 6 and municipal judge II.

Below are the names of those who filed:

City Council District 3

Olga Pedroza (I)

Bev Courtney

City Council District 5

Gill M. Sorg (I)

David B. Roewe

City Council District 6

Cecelia H. Levatino

J. Mark Cobb

Curtis J. Rosemond

Municipal Judge II

Kieran F. Ryan (I)

Ben A. Longwill

City council candidates are required to obtain 25 valid signatures to be certified. Municipal judge candidates require a letter of good standing from the State Bar of New Mexico. The city clerk’s office will conduct candidate certification Tuesday, Oct. 1. The names of certified candidates will be posted in the city clerk’s office by 9 a.m. At 5 p.m., certified candidates will draw for ballot position in the city clerk’s conference room located on the first floor of City Hall, 700 N. Main St.