NM's Presidential Scholars For 2011 Announced

KRWG News – ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (KRWG) Two New Mexico high school seniors have been chosen as 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Alexander Alvarez from Hope Christian Schools in Albuquerque and Wei-Husan Ting of Las Cruces High School are among 141 seniors named to the program.

The presidential scholars program has operated for 47 years.

U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan says the scholars exemplify what dedication to achievement and setting high standards can symbolize for all young people.

Candidates are chosen on the basis of outstanding performance on the College Board SAT and ACT exams or by nomination through the nationwide YoungArts competition conducted by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. KRWG