NMSU Journalism Dept. To Lose Accreditation

Las Cruces, NM – Six tenured-track NMSU journalism faculty members voted unanimously to withdraw from accreditation under the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, or ACEJMC, for the 2011 spring semester.

Interim Journalism Department Head Dr. Sean McCleneghan says the process is both labor intensive and expensive. He says in a statement that the department will revisit the accreditation process in two years.

The ACEJMC evaluates departments according to curriculum and instruction, diversity and inclusiveness, resources and facilities, and other criteria.

According to McCleneghan history, journalism and music were the only accredited programs in the College of Arts and Sciences during the past six years. Today, only music holds independent-agency accreditation.

KRWG is in partnership with the NMSU Journalism Department in the production of the live student news broadcast program, News 22.