NMSU President Carruthers To Receive Bipartisanship Award

Jun 17, 2013

Credit NMSU Chancellor Dr. Garrey Carruthers

  New Mexico State University President Garrey Carruthers will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award during the 2013 Spirit of Bipartisanship Awards ceremony, presented by New Mexico First. The organization will recognize six New Mexico leaders for their contributions to the state during the ceremony June 21 in Albuquerque.

"I'm delighted to receive this award from New Mexico First," Carruthers said. "Bipartisanship is an important concept, and one that gets forgotten from time to time. It's only by working together that we move forward and get things accomplished."

As president, Carruthers also serves as director of NMSU's Pete V. Domenici Institute for Public Policy. Named for retired Sen. Pete Domenici, the institute promotes bipartisanship and working with both sides to take important issues out of politics.

New Mexico First is a nonpartisan public policy organization. Their Spirit of Bipartisanship Awards honor New Mexico leaders from both parties who have proven their ability to put good policy above partisan politics. The award ceremony also is part of a larger policy tribute to honor retired Sen. Jeff Bingaman.

Carruthers was named president of NMSU earlier this year. He has a bachelor's in agriculture and master's in agricultural economics from NMSU. His Ph.D. is from Iowa State University.

He twice worked in Washington, D. C., first as a White House fellow assigned to the Secretary of Agriculture and the second as assistant secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior during the Reagan Administration. He especially enjoyed serving as governor of New Mexico - the state's last constitutionally limited, single-term governor. During his term, he was recognized as one of the Top 10 Educational Governors in the United States by Fortune magazine. Before he became NMSU president, Carruthers served as dean of NMSU's College of Business and the university's vice president for economic development.

In addition to the Lifetime Achievement Award for Carruthers, the excellence in Legislative Policy Award will go to state Rep. Larry Larranaga, state Sen. Mary Kay Papen and state Sen. Phil Griego; the Excellence in Education Policy Award will go to Kathie Winograd, Central New Mexico Community College president; and the Good Government Award will go to Fred Nation, executive director of Think New Mexico.