Only One Las Cruces Council Race Contested

Sep 30, 2013

The Las Cruces City Clerk has certified seven of nine candidates who filed for the November 5 municipal election.  The two residents who did not satisfy the required number of valid signatures on their nominating petitions were Bev Courtney, who sought a position on the ballot for District 3 City Councillor, and David B. Roewe, who sought a position on the ballot for District 5 City Councillor.

Certified candidates are:

District 3 Councillor

  1. Olga Pedroza

District 5 Councillor

  1. Gill M. Sorg

District 6 Councillor

  1. J. Mark Cobb
  2. Cecelia H. Levatino
  3. Curtis J. Rosemond

Municipal Judge II

  1. Ben A. Longwill
  2. Keiran F. Ryan

At approximately 5 p.m. Tuesday, the certified candidates in contested races will draw for ballot position in the city clerk’s office located in the lobby of City Hall, 700 N. Main St.