Rep. Nathan Small, Colleagues To Hear From Constituents Before Special Session

May 19, 2017

Credit rep. nathan small

Commentary: Las Cruces – Before traveling to Santa Fe for the special legislative session, Representative Nathan Small (D-36) will be hearing from residents at two town halls across Doña Ana County. The Special Session is necessary because of Governor Martinez and Lt. Governor John Sanchez' irresponsible and harmful veto of higher education funding—hitting NMSU, DACC, the extension office, the New Mexico Department of Agriculture, and countless other services that District 36 residents and New Mexicans count on.

The two town halls will take place at the following dates and times:

·         Tuesday, May 23rd, at the Alma d’Arte gymnasium (402 W Court Ave, Las Cruces, NM 88005) from 5:30 to 6:30 pm, with Representative Angelica Rubio (D-Las Cruces) and Senator Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces).

·         Tuesday, May 23rd, at the Hatch Community Center (837 W Hall St, Hatch, NM 87937) from 7:00 to 8:30 pm, with Representative Rudy Martinez (D-Silver City) and Senator Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces).  

Rep. Small supports restoring higher education funding as quickly as possible. “The Governor and Lt. Governor's veto of higher education, including NMSU, DACC, the extension office and NM Department of Agriculture, is hurting us all. I look forward to hearing from District 36 residents on their priorities, challenges, and ideas on making progress for all in our community.”

Representative Small is in his first term as the State Representative to House District 36. During the recent 60-day session, Rep. Small worked on many pieces of legislation that included supporting value added agricultural businesses by qualifying them for Statewide Economic Development Finance Act Funds (HB 289), improved road construction in agricultural areas (HB 164) and a resolution creating an independent ethics commission (HJR 8). Rep. Small also pushed for creating jobs in a clean energy economy (Senate Bill 312). Rep. Small currently serves on the House Tax & Revenue Committee as well as the House Energy, Environment & Natural Resources Committee.