KRWG.ORG-The Region's Home Page
Mon June 30, 2014
Texting While Driving Ban Among New State Laws
A new law is ready to take effect that will ban texting while driving in New Mexico.
Starting Tuesday, the law will prohibit drivers from sending or reading text messages and emails — even while at a stop light.
Drivers also will be prohibited from searching the Internet from smartphones or other hand-held wireless devices.
A first violation will carry a $25 fine and it's a $50 fine for subsequent violations.
There are exceptions in the law, such as summoning medical or emergency aid.
A driver can pull over to the side of the road to send or receive a text message.
More than 40 other states ban texting by all drivers.
New Mexico already prohibits texting by teenage drivers with a learner's or provisional license.
Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.