Two Candidates Not Certified For Las Cruces City Ballot

Las Cruces – The Las Cruces city clerk has certified 12 of 14 candidates who filed for the November 8th Las Cruces municipal election.

The two persons to file who did not meet the required number of valid signatures on their nominating petitions were Michael E. Fleming who sought a position on the ballot for mayor and Ryan M. Dailey for city councillor, district 4.

At approximately 5 p.m. today, the certified candidates drew for ballot position. Candidates' names will appear on the ballot in the following order:

Ken Miyagishima (I)
Michael R. Huerta
Dolores Connor

City Council District 1:
Miguel G. Silva (I)
Natalie R. Chadborn

City Council District 2:
Fred Barela Espinosa
Charles B. Scholz
Gregory Z. Smith

City Council District 4:
Nathan P. Small (I)
Aaron Henry Diaz

Presiding Municipal Court Judge:
Melissa Miller-Byrnes (I)
Frank Norman Chavez

Tomorrow, October 5th, the League of Women Voters of Greater Las Cruces will sponsor a candidate forum in council chambers at City Hall. The forum will be from 6 to 8 p.m. and will be televised live on CLC-TV, Comcast cable channel 20. Live video streaming of the forum will be available at

Important Election Dates:

Oct. 11, 2011
Last day to register to vote. (Eligible voters must reside within the municipal boundaries of the City of Las Cruces and be registered to vote by this day at the Do a Ana County Bureau of Elections, 845 Motel Blvd.)

Oct. 12, 2011
Absentee voting by paper ballot begins at City Hall only.

Oct. 19, 2011
Absentee voting in person begins at City Hall only. Saturday absentee voting will be from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on the following dates: Oct. 22, Oct. 29, Nov. 5, 2011 (this will also be the last day for absentee voting,) Nov. 8, Election Day, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For more information, contact the Las Cruces city clerk's office at