Dona Ana Community College President Among Finalists For President Of WNMU

Las Cruces – Western New Mexico University has narrowed the search for its presidential spot to five notable finalists.

They are:

Zenaido Camacho, Ph.D., Vice Provost and Associate Vice Chancellor of Diversity and Inclusion, University of Colorado Denver
Tim Hudson, Ph.D., Special Assistant to the Chancellor for International Programs and Initiatives, University of Houston System
Margie Huerta, Ph.D., President of Dona Ana Community College
Joseph Shepard, Ph.D., Vice President for Administrative Services and Finance, Florida Gulf Coast University
Richard Skinner, Ph.D., Harris and Associate/IIC Partners

"The Board of Regents has five very qualified individuals to choose from and we are looking forward to their campus visits this month. The feedback that the search committee and Board of Regents receive from the campus visits and the community forums with each candidate will be an important component to this search process," said Tony Trujillo, Board of Regents Chair.

The presidential search committee included Tony Trujillo, Board of Regents Chair; Charles R. "Randy" Briggs, Board of Regents member; Dr. Patricia Manzanares-Gonzales, School of Education Dean; Dr. Magdaleno Manzanarez, Social Sciences professor; Dr. Virginia Huegel, Computer Science professor and Faculty Staff President; Matthew Lara, Recruiter and Staff Senate President; Sherri Bays, Vice President of Business Affairs; Marcia Shields, student government president; Brian Thometz, student government member; Linda McGee, WNMU Foundation member; Rosina Romero, alumnus, ABQ alumni chapter; James Marshall, Silver City Mayor; Stephen Janos, TorC community member; and Dr. Patricia Maguire, Gallup Graduate Center.

All five candidates will be invited to the campus for final interviews. The Board of Regents will meet between April 27 and May 6 to make the final selection.

The new president will take over for Dr. John Counts who plans to retire June 30, 2011. Dr. Counts has served as president since 1993.