Governor's Arts Awards Recipients To Be Honored

May 20, 2013

The New Mexico Arts Commission says seven artists and supporters of the arts are recipients of this year's Governor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts.

An awards ceremony is scheduled Sept. 27 in Santa Fe at the New Mexico Museum of Arts and there will be a reception in the state Capitol.

The recipients are Rio Rancho painter and printmaker Edward Gonzales, Santa Fe painter Darren Vigil Gray, Taos musician Jenny Vincent, Taos painter and furniture maker Jim Wagner and Santa Fe potter Frank Willett.

Aria Finch of Roswell and the Mimbres Region Arts Council of Silver City will receive awards as major contributors to the arts.

The awards are given annually and were established in 1974 by former Gov. Bruce King and his wife, Alice.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.