House Democrats Stick With Lujan

New Mexico – House Democrats are sticking with Ben Lujan of Santa Fe as their nominee to become speaker of the House.

The 37-member Democratic caucus selected their leadership team Saturday.

Lujan overcame a challenge from Joseph Cervantes of Las Cruces.

Besides Lujan, Democrats voted to keep W. Ken Martinez of Grants as majority floor leader and Sheryl Williams Stapleton of Albuquerque as majority whip.

Patricia Lundstrom of Gallup was selected caucus chairwoman in a three-way race.

The speakership won't become final until January when the Legislature convenes and all 70 members cast votes on the top leadership position.

Lujan said he believes House Democrats are united. Cervantes declined to say after the caucus whether he intends to try to form a coalition with Republicans.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press.